Music Review -Lizzy Borden My Midnight Things

One of the best albums of 2018 in all genres but a pure win for the hard rock / heavy metal category!

Hollywood , California – I eagerly awaited a new release from Lizzy Borden for along time .I have been a fan since I was fifteen and have seen them several times in concert .I have even become friends with members of the band and have hung out with Lizzy on a few occasions himself . When I was offered an advance of Lizzy Borden’s newest release ” My Midnight Things ”  and jumped at the chance to get my hands on a copy. I put the disk in and waited for the magic to happen and then some horrible happened .No the disk did not skip and I didn’t get an error code, I hated it .That’s right as I listened  and skipped over the songs I hated all of them. I think to myself what happened to Lizzy , how could he get it so wrong and guess what I found out . He didn’t get it wrong, I did ! I was looking at it from the viewpoint of a fifteen year  kid in 1987, not as  an artist that has grown and matured his songwriting for 30 plus years. I waited a day ,  put it back in and honestly have listened  to it  well over 100 times in the last two weeks .The album plays on dreams , life , death , hope , love and age. This truly speaks volumes and touches on themes that affect all of us .

 On stage in Cleveland in 2011
On stage in Cleveland in 2011

The album starts with ” My Midnight Things ”   a phrase that will be used thru out the album and will continue with nine more songs. One of my favorite songs is   ” Long May They Haunt Us ” a track about situations and people in lives gone but still with us .

” The Scar Across My Heart ” is about love and all that goes with it .The chorus is profound with a great melody.  ” A Stranger To Love ” is about those of us with walls up, and look out when loves come ,to quote Lizzy ” Everyone Burn It Down ”

” The Perfect Poison” starts chilling and foreboding about how love can the one poison that can affect  us  . Nice clean guitar work on the start of the verses . Joey Scott does a great job on creative drumming thou out the album.

” Run Away With Me ” is about taking off with person you love and forgetting life worries and the hopes and dreams that go with it . A lot different from his days of ” Give Em’ The Axe ” but damn Lizzy can still rock ! I love the solo in the bridge is heart wrenching.

” Our Love Is God  ” can be interpreted in many ways , I choose to think its Gods Love and who could not use more of Gods Love in their life . Heck even Blackie Lawless is now a devout Christian.

” My Midnight Things ( Reprise )” is an even more chilling version of the song and them . The tone of  ” Your Not Alone ” line in the song is spine tingling.

” We Belong To The Shadows” is one rocking song with a great anthemic chorus and theme . Duel guitars in the lead up to the bridge is a nice touch .

The album is available June 15th on Metal Blade  records ( and I am sure on all streaming services as well and I rate is a solid 5 out of 5 stars. To learn more about Lizzy Borden please see of the official website at

Lizzy Borden returns with his first album in 11 years, ‘My Midnight Things’

One of the best metal acts to come out of the 1980’s returns to prove why he is one of the best !

 On stage in Cleveland in 2011
On stage in Cleveland in 2011
For decades, Lizzy Borden has been one of theatrical rock’s top front-men. And on June 15thBorden will issue his first album in 11 yearsMy Midnight Things, via Metal Blade Records. With the hard n’ heavy tracks of the album opening title cut “Obsessed With You” and “The Scar Across My Heart”, the extended layoff between albums has not dulled his desire to rock and shock. “Although we have stayed busy touring all over the world, I missed being a recording artist. I look at the new album as a new beginning, I pushed the restart button on my career,” Borden comments.
Album Cover
Album Cover
The album can be pre-ordered (and the “My Midnight Things” lyric video can be viewed) via this link: –
Having signed a new contract with Metal Blade on the strength of three demo tracks, Borden opted to produce My Midnight Things himself, with Joey Scott as co-producer, who also handled all the drumming duties. “I knew what I was going for and had doubts that I could find a producer who would understand that,” Borden explains. “My approach is very different than what is happening in today’s current sound.”
The album was also mixed by Greg Fidelman (Metallica, Black Sabbath, Adele, U2) and mastered by Tom Baker (David Bowie, Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson, Tom Petty).
Borden is planning on hitting the road shortly. “I’ve already started working on the ‘My Midnight Things’ show, and I really can’t wait to play these songs live,” Borden adds. “There are so many talented players out there in the world, I know I will find the right musicians to be on stage with me in my touring band in the new show. And just based on what is being talked about so far, it will be the best show I’ve ever done. I really do feel a new excitement that I have not felt in years. The best is yet to come.”
My Midnight Things track-listing
1. My Midnight Things
2. Obsessed with You
3. Long May They Haunt Us
4. The Scar Across My Heart
5. A Stranger to Love
6. The Perfect Poison
7. Run Away with Me
8. Our Love Is God
9. My Midnight Things (Reprise)
10. We Belong to the Shadows
Lizzy Borden online: